Gloat.

I’m really good at cooking and creating.

Today there was a killer deal on organic chicken halves. 4 for $5!
I took some tarragon, lemon thyme and 3 small cloves of garlic and roasted it with a healthy amount of olive oil, salt and pepper.

While that was roasting, I tried to translate a danish recipe to english and make a tart/bread/pastry with fresh apricots and tarragon. In the batter, I used lemon zest, which the recipe called for. I decided to use the tarragon to play off of the lemon and licorice obsession that the Danes have.
My friend just returned from Copenhagen and we’re having a coffee and licorice party tomorrow.
I’m very, VERY excited for it.

After that came together, rather quickly I might add, I threw together a quick focaccia.
I’m not really a fan of figs, but they looked so beautiful at the market, and they remind me of my Nana who recently passed. It was her birthday on Friday and I didn’t really get to honor her, so I am doing so today.
I caramelized a sweet onion and fennel in olive oil. Sliced thin some mushrooms, zucchini, and an heirloom tomato. I quartered the figs and spread them around.
I used the same herbs in the focaccia and lemon zest. Black pepper, olive oil, and balsamic vinegar on top, pink salt. More zest and lemon thyme.

While that was happening, and everything else was baking, I boiled some small golden potatoes with the skin on. I put some of the sliced mushrooms in the pan juice from the chicken while it rested. Squeezed the roasted garlic into a food processor, with the lightly cooked mushrooms, 1/4 cup of heavy cream, few spoonfuls of the pan juice, a very nice and sharp gouda, salt, pepper and more lemon zest and lemon thyme, I pureed then added the potatoes.
It is at a cooler temperature, which allows the cheese to not melt, and adds more of that nice, nutty flavor throughout the potatoes.

I’m sorry for not inviting you over, but sometimes it’s just too good to share.

One thought on “Gloat.

Leave a Reply

